Men in Black 3 (2D version)

So last night I settled down to watch Men in Black 3, being a fan of the first two, I didn’t have high expectations if I’m honest. It’s been a while since MIB and MIB2, I’m not too sure a third film was necessary, or relevant anymore.

I was pleasantly surprised.

Click for synopsis

IMDB – Synopsis (WARNING SPOILER ALERT)

The first Men in Black film was predominantly sold as Sci-Fi’s streetwise little brother, playing up to it’s leading man’s personality and image, Will Smith, fresh out of Independence Day, Fresh Prince and Bad Boys, brought a new element to modern sci-fi which has been noticeably absent; a cool, slick presence, relevant to modern America. Not only did Will Smith break through into Hollywood A-List with this film, he also showcased his talent for music, something which up until now, was confined to the rap/hip-hop genre section in music stores. Men in Black was such a success with audiences for it’s homage to B-movie sci fi’s of the 50’s but also firmly with it’s Nikes stomping the streets of New York of the late 90s, bringing with it the attitude.

Back to present day, my concerns that MIB3 is not relevant any more, may have been slightly evidenced, in the need to take the story back in time to the 1960s. There is nothing new and fresh about streetwise African Americans, not like in MIB. But, this aside, I really enjoyed MIB3, if a little difficult to follow sometimes.

The plot itself, was straightforward, it was the complex rules of timetravel and certain actions leading to certain consequences, which themselves never occured in the film, made it difficult to follow at times. For example, the timetravelers son says that Jay and Kay must never meet in the past, but Jay spends the ENTIRE movie with Kay, and nothing ever seems to happen. I’m not too sure that the complexities of time travel were very well worked out, nor did I think that for MIB3 the complexities of timetravel didn’t need to be worked out to aid the story.

Nonetheless, what I think MIB does do right, is a funny (even if the humour is a little timid), engaging story, with a touching and poignant ending. Tommy Lee Jones, despite being in the film for about 10minutes, does a fantastic job of dead-pan old-school Kay, and Jermaine Clement did a good job of being a pretty damn terrifying alien for what is essentially a children’s film.

I particularly enjoyed the Andy Warhol scene, which essentially pokes fun at everything I was taught at school to respect, a little inner me sniggered at this bit.

There is news on the horizon of a 4th outing for Jay and Kay, but I’m not too sure if this is needed. End on a high note MIB.

One thought on “Men in Black 3 (2D version)

  1. This thing bored the hell out of me – Smith’s comedy schtick was flat and tired, they crucified poor Tommy Lee Jones by having him vanish from most of the film, and the premise with the villain was silly and uninspiring. I normally go for sci-fi films, but none of the Men In Black flicks have really ever done much for me. Maybe I’m too old!!!

Leave a Reply

