FocusFlik: Look to 2014

So now is Christmas is over and done with, and your half way through your new ______ boxset (insert tv show where applicable) thoughts turn to the new year and what 2014 has in store for cinema.

January and February culminates 2013’s films with awards season. The three biggies are Golden Globes, The Oscars and BAFTAs, I’m hoping to be able to take some time off work so I can watch the Oscars and definitely will be watching the BAFTAs with updates and response throughout the ceremonies. Keep an eye out for FocusFlik features nearer the time for my thoughts on awards nominees and on the night, the winners!

May is the second St Albans Film Festival, which I’m applying to volunteer for again. The theme this year is Birds, selected of course after Hitchcock’s horror titan ‘Birds‘, after last years successful Kubrick theme to tie into the connection with Kubrick and St Albans. There will be film competitions, workshops and screenings, and I hope to be able to bring you some of the highlights of the festival right here on the blog. It’ll also be a great opportunity to promote FlikGeek to a local audience, I’ll keep you updated with my progress here.

2014 is also going to be an exciting year for anticipated releases. There is a nice healthy mixture of sequels and original films coming. The Amazing Spiderman 2, The Hunger Games Mockingjay, Darren Aronofsky’s Noah, Gareth Edwards’ Godzilla, Muppets: Most Wanted, Sin City: A Dame to Die For and Animal Rescue just to name a few, well, the ones I’m definitely looking forward to! What are you looking forward to? I’d love to know, to build up a watch list this year! 🙂

I will hopefully be writing more for Cinema Chords, and of course, will keep you updated on everything I do for them. I haven’t been able to take on as much as I would have liked purely because of my long working hours, they require a fast turnaround, something that I can’t honour just at the moment, so I’ll hopefully have the freedom soon to take on more responsive work, and not just article based. Similarly with going to the cinema, my finances don’t quite stretch to visiting the cinema on a regular basis, it’s a luxury which I can’t afford right at the moment, but again hopefully that will change in 2014 so I can bring you up to date reviews of new releases.

I’m also working on plans to invite guest bloggers to FlikGeek to contribute articles and reviews. I’ll be primarily doing my ‘searching’ for bloggers via Twitter and Facebook, so if you haven’t already, then head over to these and follow and like to keep up to date! If I do end up volunteering for the St Albans Film Festival I’ll also look to recruiting some of the other volunteers on a contributor basis. If this is something your interested in, click here and let me know!

Ultimately, the nature of the film industry is that you never know what is round the corner, and even more in my own personal life, I haven’t got a clue what this year will bring. Hopefully I’ll have more success this year than in 2013, hopefully I’ll be able to dedicate myself more to updating FlikGeek and hopefully, I’ll bring in a bit more cash to go to the cinema.

And finally, I want to open the blog content up to my followers, what kind of content would you like to see? What could I improve, what’s great, what’s not so great? Or any recommendations for viewing? (always open to those!) The blog is for you, so I want it to be the best that it can be! 🙂 Leave a comment and let me know.

Until next time happy new year and welcome to 2014!

Leave a Reply

