Oscars Nominations Announcements

I’m so sorry this has taken such a long time. I won’t bore you with personal life stories, but recently I have been so busy, it’s unreal. I’ve barely had time to sit down and have a cup of tea, let alone process the Oscar nominations! So I’m sorry Geeks, I’ll try to keep up with blogging more and posting articles and reviews!

Anyway enough of that, last week was the big kick off for awards season! The highly anticipated list of films, the yardstick of success by which we measure the previous year by. Overall the list isn’t a huge shock, many expected films, although I have heard rafts of complaints on Twitter about the noticeable Tom Hanks shaped hole in the list. Anyway, as with the Baftas, my personal disclaimer, I haven’t seen all the films on the list, so my opinions are purely speculative, and where I don’t feel that I can make an informed decision, I have just left it blank! I’m also going to do the very-non-film-buff thing, and just comment on the main awards. Sorry sound, editing, cinematography, makeup and costume people!  But in all fairness, do you really want a film graduate who only studied film theory and walked out of her first lecture of ‘actually making films’ when she couldn’t work out how to use a camera commenting on how well you made a film? I thought not…

Best picture

12 Years a Slave, American Hustle, Captain Phillips, Dallas Buyers Club, Gravity, Her, Nebraska, Philomena, The Wolf of Wall Street

I actually think that this will be a tough call. In between Oscars noms announcement and Bafta announcements, we’ve had the SAG’s and American Hustle and Dallas Buyers Club did very well, 12 Years a Slave, undoubtedly film of the moment, didn’t quite get a look in. So I reckon this might be the year of populist winners. It wouldn’t surprise me if American Hustle gets it, but I think it might come down to The Wolf of Wall Street, Dallas Buyers Club or 12 Years a Slave. I hope 12 Years gets it, because I’ve got to root for the Brit haven’t I?

Best director

David O Russell, American Hustle. Alfonso Cuarón, Gravity. Alexander Payne, Nebraska. Steve McQueen, 12 Years a Slave. Martin Scorsese, The Wolf of Wall Street.

Again, this is another tough category, but I think it’ll be between Alfonso Cuarón and Steve McQueen.

Best actor

Christian Bale, American Hustle. Bruce Dern, Nebraska. Leonardo DiCaprio, The Wolf of Wall Street. Chiwetel Ejiofor, 12 Years a Slave. Matthew McConaughey, Dallas Buyers Club.

I think we should continue the tradition of DiCaprio failing to win best anything, despite being the most superb actor of our generation (honestly, I love the DiCaprio memes). I reckon this will be a toss-up between Chiwetel Ejiofor and Matthew McConaughey, which is a sentence I’d never thought I’d hear.

Best actress

Amy Adams, American Hustle. Cate Blanchett, Blue Jasmine. Sandra Bullock, Gravity. Judi Dench, Philomena. Meryl Streep, August: Osage County

Another tough category, but I think it’s well deserved by Sandra Bullock. Known more for her comedy roles in recent years, Sandra Bullock is actually a fine actress and for her performance in Gravity, an Oscar is well-deserved.

Best supporting actor

Barkhad Abdi, Captain Phillips. Bradley Cooper, American Hustle. Michael Fassbender, 12 Years a Slave. Jonah Hill, The Wolf of Wall Street. Jared Leto, Dallas Buyers Club

Jonah Hill. Oscar Nominated. Wow. This year is definitely shaping up to be an unusual one! I suspect this will go to Fassbender, but it would be good to see Jared Leto get it.

Best supporting actress

Sally Hawkins, Blue Jasmine. Jennifer Lawrence, American Hustle. Lupita Nyong’o, 12 Years a Slave. Julia Roberts, August: Osage County. June Squibb, Nebraska.

I’m biased and purely for comedy value I’d want Jennifer Lawrence to win, but I think the most deserving is Lupita Nyong’o and I don’t think she will have to fight off much competition.

Best original screenplay

American Hustle, Blue Jasmine, Dallas Buyers Club, Her, Nebraska.

Definitely comes down to American Hustle and Dallas Buyers Club.

Best adapted screenplay

Before Midnight, Captain Phillips, Philomena, 12 Years a Slave, The Wolf of Wall Street

A tough category, but I think 12 Years is going to sweep the board this year. But this could be a surprising category.

So there we have it, check out the full list here but I think this year it’s hard to call. 12 Years a Slave has got so much buzz around it, it’s difficult to see any other films rising above it, but it’s a good year for populist cinema; American Hustle, The Wolf of Wall Street etc, with a few dark horses in the background. It’s certainly going to make for an interesting watch!

I’ll be tweeting live throughout the Oscars with reaction and news, so follow me on Twitter @flikgeek and during the awards ceremony tweet me or join the conversation using #oscarflik

One thought on “Oscars Nominations Announcements

  1. Pingback: Oscars 2014 | FlikGeek Film

Leave a Reply

