Hayao Miyazaki Blogathon – 1st Birthday Special

Calling all bloggers!

March 2014 will be the first anniversary of FlikGeek. A year on, I didn’t think I’d still be writing. I’ve tried so many times to start a blog and I always lose interest, but FlikGeek has been different. This past year has been a difficult one, and writing has kept me sane! I want to say thank you to all my followers, for everyone who takes the time to read what I write, and especially to those who comment and like my posts. Without you, I don’t think I’d enjoy writing as much as I do. So I was thinking about what I could do to celebrate my first birthday at FlikGeek. A couple of weeks ago, I started thinking about doing a blogathon, and it was around a similar time that I saw dedications, images, fan art and blog posts popping up about Hayao Miyazaki’s retirement. I think the film world as a whole is pretty sad about that (although he does seem to have a track record of rescinding retirement… fingers crossed!). Miyazaki has been hugely influential for me and my film studies. He’s the best animator of modern cinema, with a hugely emotive and timeless collection of films behind him. Anytime I tweet about Miyazaki, I get lots of feedback and comments about how he has changed the lives of others too. So it makes sense to combine the blogathon and Miyazaki.

So how am I going to do this? Well, to coincide with my 1st birthday, from 21st – 27th April I’m going to do a special week-long feature, FocusFlik: Miyazaki Anime Master. And to do this, I need your help! I’m calling on bloggers to give their thoughts, memories, reviews, art on Miyazaki and his legacy. Whether it’s a review, an article detailing how you discovered him, looking at his wider cultural impact, anything, the only rule is that your work must focus on Miyazaki. In return, I can post links to your blog, tweet your work etc, everything will be accredited to you! Whether you’ve been blogging for 10 minutes, or 10 years, it doesn’t matter, I want to hear from you!

To contact me, simply fill out the form on my website, or feel free to email me at flikgeek@live.co.uk. I wont be turning anyone’s work away, I can help you edit, I can proof read, gather images etc. All I ask is that any material you want me to look over must be submitted by 18th April at the very latest. Of course, having said all that, nothing will appear on FlikGeek without your expressed permission.

So help me celebrate my first birthday by celebrating the most influential animator in modern cinema, the master of anime, Hayao Miyazaki.

hayao_miyazaki_by_bananapatatas-d6kp8g7

Leave a Reply

